Wednesday, June 10, 2015

the Complete Grimm Chronicles by Isabella Fontaine and Ken Brosky Review!

The Complete Grimm Chronicles (The Grimm Chronicles)


The Complete Grimm Chronicles 
Isabella Fontaine, Ken Brosky 
Publication date: April 28th 2015
Genres: Fantasy, Young Adult

This is the COMPLETE collection of the award-winning Young Adult adventure series!

200 years ago, the Brothers Grimm unleashed their stories upon the world. With the stroke of a magic pen and a deal with a malevolent force of evil, they forever changed humanity’s fate.

Now the characters of the Grimms’ fairy tales walk among us. With every day that passes, they grow more evil. They are the Corrupted, and only a hero can stop them.

This is the story of Alice Goodenough, the last in a long line of heroes who have bravely given their lives to snuff out the evil force that does not belong in this planet. Her story begins during summer vacation, when she happens upon a magic pen and an invisible rabbit  named Br’er who is tasked with teaching her the ways of the hero. With the help of the magic pen, Alice must vanquish the terrible creations of the Brothers Grimm, relying on her dreams to guide her to her next target. Cinderella. Fundevogel. A fisherman. An evil wizard. A trio of dwarves hellbent on controlling the world. But to become a great hero, Alice must give up her old life so that she may protect those she loves most. Otherwise, evil will find her.

And evil will kill her.

This book contains all 12 episodes of the series, as well as the bonus “Lost diaries” of previous heroes and all of the collected Grimm’s  Fairy Tales … over 2,000 pages collected in one edition!

Book 1: Prince Charming Must Die!
Book 2: Happily Never After
Book 3: Revenge of the Castle Cats
Book 4: The Orphanage of Doom
Book 5: Blood and Thunder
Book 6: The Order of the Golden Dragon
Book 7: The Giant Slayer
Book 8: Darkness Rising
Book 9: Malevolence
Book 10: The Black Towers
Book 11: A Dance With Death, Part One
Book 12: A Dance With Death, Part Two


My Review

This is such a cool book. It's a book of all 12 short stories based in this series. I loved it. Each story is short enough to read quickly in one sitting, and yet still feels like a full book. plus I loved the Grimm brothers and their fairytales. Oh sometimes it's more like nightmares, but sometimes words are semantics LOL :) And the modern day Grimm brother, or should I say, heroine, as Alice is a teenage girl, who has to find a way to save the world one fairytale at a time. :) 

Alice is a fantastic character to follow. She's so likable and relatable, and understandable. She loves books, yet she'll kick ass when she needs to. She's fun, and yet can be serious and intense. The world she is thrown into with a magical device of a pen, and a cray cray rabbit, is amazing. The world building is phenomenal. Or maybe I should call it the creativity. They didn't rewrite the stories, but told them in a way that was just so much more. And, sometimes HEA is not the same thing for everyone. 

It would be hard for me to review each book separately, but only because I don't want to spoil things for you. However, each book revolves around Alice trying to stop a new fairytale character we've heard of trying to ruin the world. And they are all great. And one day, I will sit and read each story one at a time, and give a review for each story. But I must say, reading it in complete order all at once was fantastic. It was so much fun and even when one story ended, the next one was a page away, and I loved that because I lack patience. hahaha So with that said, I am all for rooting for this story. It was a great adventure and even taught me a new fairy tale or two :) 5 MAGICAL PAWS!!!