Tuesday, December 1, 2015

The Accidental Alchemist by Gigi Pandian

The Accidental Alchemist


The Accidental Alchemist

A modern tale of ancient intrigue from a USA Today bestselling author.
Paperback, 360 pages
Published January 8th 2015 by Midnight Ink (first published January 1st 2015) 

When Zoe Faust--herbalist, alchemist, and recent transplant to Portland, Oregon--begins unpacking her bags, she can't help but notice she's picked up a stow away: a living, breathing, three-and-half-foot gargoyle. Dorian Robert-Houdin is no simple automaton, nor is he a homunculus; in fact, he needs Zoe's help to decipher a centuries-old text that explains exactly what he is. Zoe, who's trying to put her alchemical life behind her, isn't so sure she can help. But after a murder victim is discovered on her front porch, Zoe realized she's tangled up in ancient intrigue that can't be ignored.

Includes recipes!

Praise:

"The Accidental Alchemist is a recipe for a great read. Gigi Pandian's pen never disappoints."--JULIET BLACKWELL, NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF THE WITCHCRAFT MYSTERY SERIES

"A magical, whimsical cozy that will delight readers who enjoy Juliet Blackwell and Heather Weber mysteries!" --AVERY AAMES, AKA DARYL WOOD GERBER, AUTHOR OF THE CHEESE SHOP MYSTERIES
 
About the Author

Gigi Pandian

Gigi Pandian


Gigi Pandian is the USA Today bestselling author of the Jaya Jones Treasure Hunt Mystery Series (ArtifactPirate Vishnu, and Quicksand) and the Accidental Alchemist mysteries (The Accidental Alchemist). After spending her childhood being dragged around the world by her cultural anthropologist parents, she now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area.

Gigi's debut novel was awarded a Malice Domestic Grant and named a "Best of 2012" debut mystery novel by Suspense Magazine. Gigi also writes locked-room "impossible crime" short stories, and her story "The Hindi Houdini" was short-listed for Agatha and Macavity awards.

Gigi blogs at http://gigipandian.blogspot.com/ and posts gargoyle photographs athttp://www.gargoylegirl.com. Website @ 
 and twitter @ GigiPandian
My Review
I will label this one as a paranormal mystery, but more mystery overall. The characters are my favorite part. Oh the gargoyle is hilarious. Dorian is a French gargoyle and he loves all things French. He's a cook, and helps Zoe with vegan recipes. And then the mystery is well done. It was unpredictable and surprising. I liked the humor as well. But this one was slow. I almost didn't finish it, but I'm glad I did. I normally like a lot of action, so it was especially hard for me. I think some of it would have helped to be labeled as a paranormal mystery instead of urban fantasy because not too much action here. But the alchemy part was cool. There's hints of a sequel and I think I would read it. so, with that said, 3.5 PAWS!