Tuesday, January 19, 2016

The Rogue Retrieval by Dan Koboldt!





Title: The Rogue Retrieval 
Author: Dan Koboldt 
Publisher: Harper Voyager Impulse 
Pages: 384 
Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy 
Format: Ecopy/Paperback

Sleight of hand... in another land.

Stage magician Quinn Bradley has one dream: to headline his own show on the Vegas Strip. And with talent scouts in the audience wowed by his latest performance, he knows he's about to make the big-time. What he doesn't expect is an offer to go on a quest to a place where magic is all too real.

That's how he finds himself in Alissia, a world connected to ours by a secret portal owned by a powerful corporation. He's after an employee who has gone rogue, and that's the least of his problems. Alissia has true magicians...and the penalty for impersonating one is death. In a world where even a twelve-year-old could beat Quinn in a swordfight, it's only a matter of time until the tricks up his sleeves run out.

Scientist and blogger Dan Koboldt weaves wonder, humor, and heart into his debut novel, The Rogue Retrieval. Fans of Terry Brooks and Terry Pratchett will find this a thrilling read.


 photo
addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png
photo
B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpgB&N

My Review

Definitely a very fin and interesting take on a magical world. You see, it all starts with a regular guy who is a stage magician. Excuse me, illusionist. LOL Quinn Bradley- stage name Quinn Thomas- works in the Vegas strip as a magician and all he wants is his own show. He wants to see his name in the light and on billboards. But after his big break, things get complicated. What should have been a night of many offers and great luck change, he is kinda coerced into taking another job, with some seriously secretive people. He needs to help them retrieve a rogue, in a magical world, a real magical world. Like magic happens and exists, and he's the only one without magic. LOL It was such a fun turn of events and I loved it. 

Quinn is quite funny, and I loved his snark and his self talk. His inner monologue had me cracking up while keeping me interested. How he reads other people and his outlook on how magic happens. And his illusions. He is working with a team of elite and it's kinda mind blowing. He makes the story with his voice but I loved the fantasy world he is dropped into. He definitely made things so much more interesting. I loved how his mind worked and he's really just a regular guy in a fantastic scenario.

The world building is quite fantastic. It's a great adventure for Quinn and the author has done a great job with setting up something fantastic to start out a series. I say this because there's some threads of the story left open, so you know there's more to come. You will be cheering for Quinn while wanting to know what will happen and who will it happen to. And there's some great side characters that I really liked as well. The writing is well done and kept the pages turning for me. And it's got so much intrigue, with the corporation behind the magical world, and who does what, and who is the bag guy.  And I loved how science and modern technology is mixed in with old world medieval magic. I am definitely looking forward to seeing the next book taking it to the next level. Overall, this is a fantastic read! 4.5 PAWS!! 

  
 Meet the Author

Dan Koboldt is a genetics researcher and SF/F author living in St. Louis, Missouri. He works at the McDonnell Genome Institute at Washington University, where he and his colleagues use next-generation DNA sequencing technologies to uncover the genetic basis of inherited diseases such as age-related macular degeneration, heart disease, cancer, and diabetes. He has co-authored more than 50 publications in Nature,Human MutationGenome ResearchThe New England Journal of MedicineCell, and other scientific journals.

Dan is also an avid hunter and outdoorsman. Every fall, he disappears into Missouri’s dense hardwood forests to pursue whitetail deer and turkey with bow and arrow. He lives with his wife and three children in St. Louis, where the deer take their revenge by eating all of the plants in his backyard.

facebookgoogle_pluspinterest


Tour Schedule
Monday, January 18 - Guest blogging at Author C.A. Milson
Tuesday, January 19 - Book reviewed at Happy Tails and Tales
Wednesday, January 20 - Book featured at Bound 2 Escape
Thursday, January 21 - Interviewed at Deal Sharing Aunt
Friday, January 22 - Guest blogging at Suzanne Johnson
________
Monday, January 25 - Book reviewed at Bookishly Me
Tuesday, January 26 - Book reviewed at Vic's Media Room
Wednesday, January 27 - Book reviewed at I Smell Sheep
Thursday, January 28 - Book reviewed at Absurd Book Nerd
Friday, January 29 - Book reviewed at Books by Centeno
________
Monday, February 1 - Book reviewed at Cover2Cover
Tuesday, February 2 - Book reviewed at Ashley's Bookshelf
February 3 - Interviewed at I'm Shelf-ish
February 4 - Book featured at The Review From Here
February 5 - Book featured at Book Cover Junkie